Who has been involved

This project would not have been possible without the support of our volunteers. Here we acknowledge and thank them.

Across a two year period, we have been busy collaborating with paediatricians, experts and young people across the UK to develop our credible vision for the future of paediatrics in the UK, concentrating on four areas – data and evidence, impact of innovation, models of care, and working lives.

Around 120 of our members – from medical students and foundation doctors through to retired consultants – have worked with us across our four workstreams. They have been steered throughout the process by members of our project board.

Around 900 children and young people have also been involved, sharing thousands of ideas, experiences and hopes for continuing the good care they receive into the future, and working collaboratively to find solutions where there are areas for development.

The Paediatrics 2040 project has been led by a dedicated project board, who have been crucial in shaping this work across the last two years.


Professor Russell Viner, RCPCH President and Professor of Adolescent Health at the UCL Institute of Child Health in London

Dr Hannah Jacob, Chair of RCPCH Trainees Committee and ST7 Paediatrics at Evelina London Children’s Hospital

RCPCH Members:

Dr David Evans MBE, RCPCH Vice President for Training and Assessment and Consultant Neonatologist at Southmead Hospital in Bristol

Dr Simon Clark, RCPCH Vice President for Health Policy and Neonatal Consultant at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Steve Turner, RCPCH Officer for Scotland and Consultant Paediatrician and Honorary Professor at NHS Grampian, Aberdeen

Dr Nicola Jay, RCPCH Officer for Workforce and Consultant Paediatric Allergist at Sheffield Children’s Hospital NHS Trust

Dr Damian Roland, Consultant and Honorary Associate Professor in Paediatric Emergency Medicine at Leicester Hospitals

Dr Judith van der Voort, Head of Wales School of Paediatrics and Child Health and Consultant Paediatric Nephrologist at University Hospital of Wales

RCPCH Staff:

Jo Revill, Chief Executive Officer

Robert Okunnu, Director of Policy and External Affairs

Emily Arkell, Director of Research and Quality Improvement

Daniel Waeland, Director of Education and Training (from June 2020)

Julia O’Sullivan, Director of Education and Training (to April 2020)

John O’Keefe, Assistant Director of Education and Training

Emma Sparrow, Children and Young People’s Engagement Manager

Patrick Cullen, Head of Membership

Alison Firth, Paediatrics 2040 Project Manager (from September 2019)

Jonathan Cushing, Paediatrics 2040 Project manager (to September 2019)

Safya Benniche, Paediatrics 2040 Research Assistant (to August 2020)

We would like to acknowledge and thank everyone who volunteered to support our Paediatrics 2040 project and gave their time in whatever capacity they were able to.


Coral Akenzua
Sveta Alladi
Kerry Blackett
Sarah Burge
Ronny Cheung
Rebecca Clarke
Nathan Collicott
Rosaline Garr
Dougal Hargreaves
Hannah Hayden
Karen Horridge
Helena Jones
NeeNa Kim
Grace Li
Heidi Makrinioti
Roshni Mansfield
Hannah Mckay
Jared Murphy
Susannah Pye
Olatokunbo Sanwo
Rakhee Shah
David Taylor-Robinson
Leyla Turkoglu
Steve Turner
Amaran Uthayakumar-Cumarasamy
Russell Viner
Joe Ward
Rachael Wood
Elizabeth Wortley
Arrash Yassaee


Tamsin Brown
Jack Burgess
Katherine Burke
Alisha Burman
Paul Dimitri
Rhys Dore
Peter-Marc Fortune
Benjamin Holter
Hannah Jacob
Constantinus Kanaris
Charlotte King
Katie Knight
Adam Lawton
Anjalika Mallick
Alison McLuckie
Kevon Parmesar
Radhika Patel
Damian Roland
David Rowitch

Models of Care

Molla Ahmed
Mhairi Barclay
Frances Blackburn
Simon Clark
Nikola Creasey
Heather Deall
Arunava Dhar
Kate Dharmarajah
Jacqueline Driscoll
Zoe Dunhill
Carol Ewing
Simon Fountain-Polley
Neelakshi Ghosh
David Grier
Radika Gulati
Victoria Hemming
Jonny Henderson
Tatiana Hyde
Erum Jamall
Nicola Jay
Lisa Kaufmann
Piriyanga Kesevan
Bob Klaber
Uttara Kurup
Chloe Macaulay
Sanjay Patel
Defne Saatci
Claire Salter
Guddi Singh
Dhiviya Tharan
Charlotte Underwood
Thea Williams
Chu-Hai Wong
Rie Yoshida

Working Lives

Gayle Appleby
Amit Bali
Roisin Begley
James Bubb
Simon Clark
Emma Coombe
Will Creasy
Tessa Davis
Melanie D’Costa
Paula DeSousa
Magali Dubus
Danielle Eddy
David Evans
Caroline Fertleman
Seb Gray
Tania Haynes
Magdalene Hover
Katie Hunt
Bov Jani
Bindu Koodiyedath
James Law
Dan Magnus
Gerard Manning
Hannah McKay
Nicola McMullan
Rachel Mitchell
Nicki Murdock
Anandhi Nagaraj
Najette O’Donnell
Joanna O’Sullivan
Muhammad Patel
Christina Petropoulos
Melanie Ranaweera
Jessica Salkind
Nicholas Schindler
AudreyKerShin Soo
Hannah Steedman
Sanjay Suri
Judith Van Der Voort
Emily Whitehouse
Kevin Windebank
Eva Wooding

We would like to extend our thanks to all the children, young people and families who have participated in our engagement process. The following organisations from across the UK have been involved:

Central Bedfordshire Youth Voice, England

Christopher Hatton Primary School, England

Fitzalan High School, Wales

Fitzrovia Youth in Action, England

Girvan Academy, Scotland

iWill, England

Knowsley Borough Council – Children in Care Council, England

Llanharan Drop In Centre, Wales

Looked After Services Western Trust Board, Northern Ireland

Neath Port Talbot Youth Council

NI Youth Forum, Northern Ireland

NI Youth Parliament, Northern Ireland

NICCY, Northern Ireland

Ninewells Hospital and Medical School, Scotland

North Lanarkshire Youth Voice, Scotland

North Lincs Youth Voice, England

Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Young People’s Executive

(YiPpEe), England

RCPCH &Us, UK Wide

RCT Youth Engagement and Participation Service, Wales

Right Here Brighton (YMCA) , England

Scottish Youth Parliament, Scotland

South West Acute Hospital, Northern Ireland

St James Hospital, England

St John Ambulance Cadets, Cymru

St John Ambulance Cadets, St Albans Unit, England

St Marys College Derry, Northern Ireland

Suffolk Children in Care Council, England

Torfaen Youth Forum, Wales

University College London Hospital, England

VOYPIC, Northern Ireland

Warrington Borough Council – Children in Care Council, England

Youth Focus NW, England

YPAGNe, England

RCPCH &Us Youth authors: Anwen, Bryn, Demi, Sashank, Izzy with support for the launch from Noor and Toby.

RCPCH Children and Young People’s Engagement Team: Emma Sparrow, Alli Guiton and Emma Hosking

Drawn by a member of RCPCH &Us
VisualV1 - Arrow Created with Sketch. VisualV1 - Arrow Created with Sketch.